NEAATO Blog

NETWORK OF ENTERTAINING ASIAN AMERICAN TALENT

World’s most famous artist, seen hundreds of millions of times each week, Googler Dennis Hwang


Dennis-hwang.jpgDennis Hwang has seriously got one of the coolest jobs on the planet. This artist designs Google’s logos like the ones here.

Dennis’ first logo was in honor of Bastille Day, July 14, 2000, at the request of Larry Page and Sergey Brin.

Born in Knoxville, Tennessee, Dennis moved to Korea when he was about five years old and returned to Knoxville to graduate from Bearden High School. He notes,

Actually, much of my ideas and style stem from the time I spent during my childhood in Korea. Whatever challenges the logos bring, I can often rely on the little doodles that I used to do in school when I was young. Something that used to be frowned upon turned out to be my greatest asset.

Dennis is in charge of all of Google’s webmasters and designing the logos is only about 20% of his job. See him doodle right before your eyes: here.

He  says,

“artists’ birthdays are the most precious to me […] I’ve always studied art history and trying to imitate their style is the most pressure.”

Dennis greatly admires artists such as Claude Monet. Thanks Em.

Source

http://www.cnn.com/2006/TECH/internet/07/19/google.logo/index.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dennis_Hwang

Leave a comment